Skip To Main Content

Athletics

Cougars ACDS Logo

Ready, set, go! ACDS offers an after-school team sports program for students in grades 5 - 8 promoting the values of sportsmanship and camaraderie. The ACDS Cougars participate as a member school in the Silicon Valley Athletic League (SVAL).

We believe that by participating in athletics, young people gain a foundation for a healthy lifestyle while extending our school’s emphasis on the importance of respect, teamwork, discipline and having fun at school.

We’re proud of all our student athletes. We encourage children to participate in our after-school sports program and take advantage of this enriching aspect of the ACDS experience.

Flag Football

Fall Sports

ACDS competes in girls' volleyball, boy's flag football and coed cross country in the fall season.

 

 

Basketball Fall Sports

Winter Sports

ACDS competes in girls' and boys' basketball in the winter season.

 

 

Track and Field

Spring Sports

ACDS competes in coed track & field in the spring season.

 

 

Teams are grouped by grade (5th and 6th are “C” teams and 7th and 8th are “A” teams). There are no cuts, and all students may sign-up and compete on a team. Teams typically practice twice a week, and individual coaches determine practice days. Games are Monday-Friday after school with occasional Saturday tournaments.

To follow our Cougar athletics on Twitter, follow @Almaden_School #GoACDSCougars. For more questions about the ACDS interscholastic sports program, please contact Athletics Director, Derek McIntyre.

ACDS Athletics Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Mar 31
Mon, Apr 1
MS Track and Field Practice
-
AAU Basketball Team Practice
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
AAU Basketball Team Practice
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Volleyball Tournament
-
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
Tue, Apr 9
Wed, Apr 10
Thu, Apr 11
Fri, Apr 12
Sat, Apr 13
Sun, Apr 14
Mon, Apr 15
MS Track and Field Practice
-
AAU Basketball Team Practice
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Tue, Apr 16
7/8 Boys Volleyball vs. HIllbrook
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
5/6 Boys Volleyball vs. LACS Red
-
Campbell Community Center
Wed, Apr 17
AAU Basketball Team Practice
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Thu, Apr 18
5/6 Boys Volleyball vs. LACS Blue
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
7/8 Boys Volleyball vs. Apostles Lutheran
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Fri, Apr 19
King's Academy Meet
The King's Academy
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 21
Mon, Apr 22
MS Track and Field Practice
-
AAU Basketball Team Practice
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Tue, Apr 23
Subscribe to Alerts 5/6 Boys Volleyball vs. LACS Red
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Subscribe to Alerts 7/8 Boys Volleyball vs. Hillbrook
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Wed, Apr 24
Subscribe to Alerts AAU Basketball Team Practice
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Thu, Apr 25
Fri, Apr 26
Sat, Apr 27
Sun, Apr 28
Mon, Apr 29
Subscribe to Alerts San Jose MS League Meet #1
-
Willow Glen Middle School
Subscribe to Alerts AAU Basketball Team Practice
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Tue, Apr 30
Subscribe to Alerts 5/6 Boys Volleyball vs. Merryhill
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Subscribe to Alerts 7/8 Boys Volleyball vs. Merryhill
-
RM #55 (Gym FEC)
Wed, May 1
Thu, May 2
Subscribe to Alerts 7/8 Boys Volleyball vs. Old Orchard
-
Campbell Community Center
Subscribe to Alerts 5/6 Boys Volleyball vs. Old Orchard
-
Campbell Community Center
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4

Cougar Sports Clinics

In addition to our sports teams, ACDS Athletics offers Cougar Sports Clinics throughout the year. 

Our clinics are six-week classes offered to all ACDS students in grades 1 - 7. ACDS Athletic Director Derek McIntyre brings 30+ years of coaching experience from youth to high school level and will teach students each sport in a fun and enjoyable environment.

Each clinic includes 30 minutes of instruction with a focus on learning fundamentals. The second half of the clinic features a controlled scrimmage with an opportunity for the kids to apply the skills they have just learned. ACDS parents can learn more and register for upcoming clinics on Parent's Corner.

Cougar Booster Club

The Cougar Booster Club is an organization of school parents devoted to the enhancement of ACDS athletics.

The goals of the Booster Club are to: promote school spirit; raise the awareness level throughout the school and the community with regard to the ACDS athletic program; encourage support for all athletic programs from the parents, alumni, students, faculty and staff; and, sponsor fundraising activities that support the athletes, coaches, equipment and athletic facilities of Almaden Country School

The Booster Club meets on the last Tuesday of every month at 7:00 pm. All ACDS elementary and middle school parents are welcome to join. Contact Athletics Director Derek McIntyre.